Official State of Iowa Website Here is how you know
Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals & Licensing

DIA becomes DIAL!

On July 1, 2023, multiple programs across four agencies became part of the Iowa Department of Inspections and Appeals (DIA) as a new organizational structure for state government goes into effect. DIA is now the Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing (DIAL). 

Fire Safety Bureau

State Inspections:

State Fire Prevention Inspectors inspect many facilities that are governed and regulated by the State. Schools, jails, prisons, day cares, residential care facilities, assisted living, and group homes are just some of the state regulated facilities inspected by the Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing (DIAL).

State Fire Prevention Inspectors also conduct inspections for other building and occupancy types based on complaints. State Fire Prevention Inspectors do not inspect single or two-family dwellings for fire code compliance.

International Fire & Building Code - Most state inspections are conducted using the 2015 International Fire Code and 2015 International Building Code and the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) Standards as referenced within the International Codes.

661-201.2(100) General Provisions - International Fire Code (IFC) 2015 adoption section

661-301.3(103A) General Provisions - International Building Code (IBC) 2015 adoption section

Occupancy inspections are required to be conducted for all state regulated buildings that have been newly built, remodeled, or a change from one occupancy to another, before occupying the area. To request an occupancy inspection, contact the State Fire Prevention Inspector for the area to schedule a time. There is an inspection fee of $150.00 for the occupancy inspection.


State Plan of Correction Guide
Surge Protector Policy (Non-Healthcare)
Door Locking Guide (Non-Healthcare)
Variance Request-Door Securement Device
Variance Request
Proper Classroom Door Lock Installation
NFPA Safety Alert- Antifreeze in Residential Sprinkler
Temporary Construction Variance Request

Special Agent in Charge

The Fire Prevention Bureau is supervised by Special Agent in Charge Kyle Gorsh and Special Agent in Charge Jake Allspach.

Flammable Liquids Program Contact

The state of Iowa is covered by a Fire Prevention Inspector for flammable liquids (aboveground storage tank) plan reviews and inspections.

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Program Contact

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Program is overseen by Special Agent in Charge Jake Allspach .


Territory 1 includes the following counties: Buena Vista, Cherokee, Clay, Dickinson, Emmet, Lyon, O'Brien, Osceola, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Pocahontas, and Sioux. 

Territory 1 is covered by Fire Inspector Mary Miller. 


Territory 2 includes the following counties: Audubon, Calhoun, Carroll, Crawford, Greene, Guthrie, Harrison, Ida, Monona, Sac, Shelby, and Woodbury.

Territory 2 is covered by Fire Inspector Josh Lahr. 


Territory 3 includes the following counties: Adair, Adams, Cass, Fremont, Mills, Montgomery, Page, Pottawattamie, Ringgold, Taylor, and Union.

Territory 3 is covered by Fire Inspector Marty McCreedy.


Territory 4 includes the following counties: Boone, Polk, and Story. 

Territory 4 is covered by Fire Inspector Andy McCall. 


Territory 5 includes the following counties: Cerro Gordo, Floyd, Hancock, Kossuth, Mitchell, Winnebago, and Worth.

Territory 5 is covered by Fire Inspector Bob Sankey. 


Territory 6 includes the following counties:  Butler, Franklin, Grundy, Hamilton, Hardin, Humboldt, Webster, and Wright.

Territory 6 is covered by Fire Inspector Jeff Reed.


Territory 7 includes the following counties: Appanoose, Clarke, Dallas, Davis, Decatur, Lucas, Madison, Mahaska, Marion, Monroe, Warren, Wapello, and Wayne.

Territory 7 is covered by Fire Inspector Curt Seddon. 


Territory 8 includes the following counties: Benton, Black Hawk, Iowa, Jasper, Marshall, Poweshiek, and Tama. 

Territory 8 is covered by Fire Inspector Jeff Reed


Territory 9 includes the following counties: Allamakee, Bremer, Buchanan, Chickasaw, Clayton, Delaware, Dubuque, Fayette, Howard, and Winneshiek. 

Territory 9 is covered by Fire Inspector Mike Euans. 


Territory 10 includes the following counties:  Cedar, Clinton, Jackson, Johnson, Jones, and Linn.

Territory 10 is covered by Fire Inspector Trevor Kabala.


Territory 11 includes the following counties: Des Moines, Henry, Jefferson, Keokuk, Lee, Louisa, Muscatine, Scott, Van Buren, and Washington. 

Territory 11 is covered by Fire Inspector Amy Fratzke. 

Fire Prevention Inspector territory map and contact information image