Employment Appeal Board

The three-member Employment Appeal Board is appointed by the Governor and serves as the final administrative law forum for state and federal unemployment benefit appeals. The Board also hears appeals of rulings of the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) and rulings of the Iowa Public Employees Retirement System (IPERS). The three members of the Board are appointed to represent employers, employees and the general public.  In addition to unemployment cases, the Board hears appeals involving peace officer issues and contractor registration requirements. The Board receives 96 percent of its funding from the federal government based on the number of appeals heard and the time taken to render a decision.

A copy of the Board's Fiscal Year 2017 Annual Report is available here.

Board Members:
Kim D. Schmett, Chair
Employer Representative
Ashley Koopmans, Vice Chair
Public Member
James Strohman, Board Member
Employee Representative


Printed from the website on May 23, 2018 at 2:32am.